Doan, Majerle, Bidwill To AZ Sports Hall of Fame

The Arizona Sports Hall of Fame will be inducting a writer, wrestler and members of three pro sports teams in Arizona later this year.  The 2017 class includes longtime Arizona Coyotes captain Shane Doan, Phoenix Suns great Dan Majerle and Arizona Cardinals owner Bill Bidwill.  An induction ceremony will be held in November at the Scottsdale Plaza Resort. 

Shane Doan recently retired from hockey after parting with the Coyotes this year. Doan was drafted by the franchise in 1995 when they were still the Winnipeg Jets. When the team moved to the desert in 1996 Doan came along and finished his career as the franchise's leader in nearly every offensive category. Each of his 21 seasons were spent with the Coyotes franchise.  

Dan Majerle played the first seven seasons of his career with the Phoenix Suns. He is a member of the Suns' Ring of Honor, has the second most three-pointers made in team history (800) and also won a bronze medal in the 1988 Olympics.  Majerle is currently the men's basketball coach at Grand Canyon University.

Cardinals owner Bill Bidwill has either co-owned or owned the Cardinals outright for more than 55 years. Bidwill oversaw the team's move from St. Louis to Phoenix in the 1980s. He is credited with bringing several Super Bowls to Arizona and forming Cardinals Charities.

The three are joined by sports write Paola Boivin and Arizona State University wrestler Anthony Robles. Boivin is the first female journalist in the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame. She spent 20 years with The Arizona Republic and now teaches at Arizona State.  Robles, who was born with only one leg, had an undefeated (36-0) season in 2011 and won a national championship. He also won ESPN's "Jimmy V Award for Perseverance" that same year. 

Tickets to the induction ceremony can be purchased here

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content